Workin' It Out

Melting Away & Finding Myself

Gluten-free Granola Bars

I have been wanting to make my own granola bars for awhile: they look like a simple thing to do, I would know what was in them and I knew I’d be able to make way more than 6 for $3, which is what I end up spending on some of my favorites. So I scoured Pinterest for something yummy and healthy. The result was a gluten-free recipe with lots of nuts and dried fruits. I just made the recipe for the first time and I can’t wait for them to cool enough to eat! Trust me, I already licked the spoons! That little preview was amazing!

I pinned the recipe on my pinterest profile. Or you can find the original recipe published here. Here’s how I made mine:

Gluten-free Granola Bars
2 cups rolled oats (certified gluten free)
1/2 cup shelled sunflower seeds
1/2 cup sliced almonds
1/4 cup milled flax seed
1/2 cup quinoa (uncooked)
1/2 cup flaked coconut
1/4 cup sesame seeds
1/3 cup dried cranberries
1/3 cup dried cherries
1/3 cup raisins (or any combo of dried fruit to make 1 cup)
2/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup pure maple syrup (not that fake stuff that’s actually dressed up corn syrup)
4 tablespoons butter (I used Earth Balance soy free butter)
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
2 tsp. vanilla

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Line a large rimmed baking sheet with foil. Mix together all dry ingredients (oats, seeds & nuts) on the baking sheet. Place the pan in the oven and toast the dry ingredients for 10 minutes, stirring every few minutes to prevent them from burning. As soon as the ingredients are toasted, remove the pan from the oven.

While the dry ingredients are toasting, line a 9×13-inch baking pan with parchment paper.

Next, place a small saucepan over medium-high heat and add in the brown sugar, honey, butter, cinnamon and salt. Bring the mixture to a strong boil for 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.

Place the toasted ingredients in a large bowl, and stir in the dried fruit. Pour the honey-sugar mixture over the dry ingredients and stir until all the ingredients are moist and well combined.

Using a wooden spoon or silicone spatula, scrape the mixture into the prepared baking pan, pressing down to evenly spread out the mixture. At this point I was ready to ditch the bars, grab a spoon and go to town! Set the baking sheet aside and let the bars cool for 2-3 hours until they are hardened.

20120608-164159.jpg

Once the bars are hard, remove them from the baking pan and turn the granola out onto a cutting board. Remove the parchment paper. Cut the granola into bars by pressing straight down with a long knife (don’t saw or they will crumble) – I cut mine into 24. The bars can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature individually wrapped in plastic wrap for up to a week or in individual snack baggies.

20120608-175645.jpg

So I tried one… YUMMMMMMOOOO! And I’m looking forward to trying some variations, I’m thinking one with chocolate chips, one with peanut butter & banana chips, one with more almonds… Oooh the possibilities! What would you put in a granola bar?

Nutrition info per bar:
165 calories, 5.1 g fat, 1.4 g saturated fat, 0 g trans fat, 0 mg cholesterol, 26 g carbs, 4.8 g protein

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers

