Workin' It Out

Melting Away & Finding Myself

The Journey Begins

For part of my New Year’s Resolution of getting fit, losing weight, blah, blah, blah… I decided to start a blog.  But when I decided to actually sit down & start my blog, I could NOT think of a title that wasn’t over done or super cheesy.  Naturally, I turned it over to my Facebook friends and posted a contest.  My friends were given the challenge of helping me with the title with the promise that the winner would get to come work out with me at my gym.  I was blown away at how many potential titles were posted.  My friends are good!  In the end, I couldn’t settle on just one, so I took my favorites and morphed it into a blog title and Workin’ It Out: Melting Away & Finding Myself was born.  Even though that title is great, I just can’t let 52 Pounds in 52 Weeks: My Journey to a Healthy New Me go so it will be a year-long series on my blog! Thank you friends for all your help & support already!!

When I started this naming contest, the weight loss & fitness tips started coming in.  I’ve started browsing My Fitness Pal, which I am excited to use as a diet & fitness tracker.  I want to learn more about Fitbit, which sounds really awesome.  Then a friend suggested I try the Couch to 5K plan and another friend said we should go ahead and sign up for one so that we are committed.  Then at work today, co-workers suggested we get a team together for the Color Run coming to our area this summer.  I have NEVER been excited at the thought of running, but the Color Run sounds like fun (oh goodness, I just used “running” and “fun” in the same sentence)!  I feel like the journey is finally rolling!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “The Journey Begins

  1. Hazel Day on said:

    I have been on a Weightliss journey fir about 6 months. I joined Weight Watchers. I am 12 pounds lighter. The weightless has been slow so I know I can do better. I have done a couple 5ks along this journey di, I would live to join you. Please keep me posted on where and when

  2. jenntrusty on said:

    Thanks for sharing some fitness tips. The Fitbit looks really cool…may have to order that one!

  3. Corrina on said:

    Running and fun…you are right, I don’t think those two words have ever been put together in my vocabulary either! What is the Fitbit? I need to check into that….
    Corrina 🙂

    • The Fitbit is a small device you wear – kind of like a pedometer, but it will measure how many calories you are burning as you go about your daily activities. It even has an adapter to wear it at night and will measure your sleep habits. I think it then gives you recommendations on increasing your activity level and improving your sleep. I need to look into it more as well, but that’s the basic gist. 🙂

  4. I’ll do the 5K with you if I can. I’m in the symphony chorus and we have our last weekend of performances in June. I don’t think it is that weekend. No matter what, I can walk it. I love running 5Ks. I’ve completed two with no walking.

    You should do the trolley run in April. It’s a 4 mile run beginning around 75th and Wornall. It ends on the Plaza. It’s mostly downhill and if you aren’t ready to run the whole thing – so what! Run what you can. Last April, I ran the whole thing – it was awesome.

Leave a Reply

