Workin' It Out

Melting Away & Finding Myself

Week 5/52: Goals Check-in

At the end of each week, for my accountability I am going to check on the progress of my goals. Let’s see how this week went:

  • Log my food & exercise. CHECK! I had a couple of days over my calorie goal, but I made sure that I exercised hard the day after and stayed below my weekly calorie goal. I am actually surprised how easy it is to stay within my calorie budget – as long as I exercise! I have been on 1400 calorie diets before and I felt extremely restricted. It would seem like I would run out of calories before dinner, but this has been a completely different experience. This time I have about 1300 calories and it doesn’t seem as difficult. Maybe it’s because I am exercising or because I am actually tracking every bite that goes in my mouth consistently? Overall, I haven’t felt deprived very often – I’m even eating food that tastes good! What a concept!! OH yeah – if you use My Fitness Pal, please add me (dizzymomma) as a friend so we can keep each other accountable!
  • Follow my E-mealz Portion Controlled plan. CHECK! (ok, sort of) This week has been a little nutty with our plumbing issues. So, to avoid having many dishes to wash, one night we got Subway footlongs and ate half one night and half another. Wednesday I went out to eat with my good friend Jacki after we had pedicures. (I had salad, but it was still probably more calories than I would have liked… oh well it was deeeelicious!) But other than that, I’ve been consistently eating home-cooked meals. I am getting very good at measuring and weighing ingredients and portions so that I KNOW what I’m eating.
  • Eliminate my addiction to sugar. I’ve decided to start when Lent starts. I will be eliminating the obvious stuff. Candy. Cookies. Brownies. Even though I haven’t officially started this, I have already noticed I am turning down candy when offered, I am opting for diet pop and I have even told my secret pal at work that while I love the treats she leaves me, I have given up sweets. These are little victories that will add up in a big way! I still feel like what I’m doing now is (obviously) working so I don’t want to change it so much that I feel deprived and fall off the wagon.
  • Exercise 5 days a week. I managed four days at the gym and one day at home. That would be the day that I stepped in a puddle of water right before I planned to leave for the gym. I think moving boxes at 6 a.m. qualifies as a workout!
  • Participate in a 5K I would like to participate in the color run, but they still haven’t opened registration!! I a getting a little impatient… Gee, imagine that. Me? Impatient?
  • Get more sleep. I never thought something I enjoy so much would be so hard to do!! I am still having a hard time getting to bed before 10:30, but as I said before, I feel like my eyes open just a little easier in the morning now than they used to.
  • Blog on my progress of my goals and post my weight I haven’t posted much this week, but hope you have read a little.
  • Lose 52 Pounds in 52 Weeks. This seems to be going much better than expected. As I mentioned above, my friend Jacki and I got pedicures last week. My pedi was for losing 10 pounds and I had promised her a pedi for her birthday from (I’m embarrassed to say) October. We had a blast getting our toes done, catching up and having a bite to eat! Totally wonderful reward night! href=”https://dizzymomma.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/20120215-205529.jpg”>20120215-205529.jpg
    At the end of last week, I was only a little more than a pound away from my 15 pound reward to buy a new piece of exercise clothing. I have met that goal! So now I just need to find the time to go shopping for a new sport bra. After weighing on Monday, I am now just a bit more than a pound away from having lost TWENTY pounds! Twenty pounds has always sounded like it’s so unattainable that I cannot believe in a little more than a month I am nearly there!!! 18.8 pounds down, 33.2 to go!

Now time for my friends to check in! How has your week been? Have you accomplished any goals?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Week 5/52: Goals Check-in

  1. Am I going to recognize you in April???? Keep it up Ash!!!!!

Leave a Reply

