Workin' It Out

Melting Away & Finding Myself

What I Made Monday (er… Tuesday)

Welcome to a new series on my blog!  I want to share some of the yummy goodness our family eats each week.  I have said before I just love subscribing to Emeals!  They make my life so much easier with their delicious meals and pre-made grocery list.  Normally this will be the dinner meal I made on Monday, but this Monday I had dinner out with my dad, his wife and my aunt and uncle who were visiting from out of town.  So this installment is What I Made Tuesday, courtesy of my Emeals Portion Control Menu!

This week’s dish: Italian Smoked Sausage & White Bean Stew

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

14 oz. package smoked turkey sausage (I used Hillshire Farms Turkey Polska Kielbasa)
1 tsp. minced garlic
2 C. diced tomatoes (since tomatoes are not in season yet, I used a can of Italian diced tomatoes)
2 T. chopped fresh basil
2 whole carrots, chopped
15 oz. can great northern beans, rinsed & drained
14 oz. can fat-free, reduced sodium chicken broth
1 tsp. dried oregano
1 tsp. dried thyme
1/2 tsp. pepper

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Slice sausage on the diagonal in 1/2″ slices.  Heat sausage & garlic in a large sprayed stock pot until browned.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stir in the remaining ingredients; bring to boil.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover, lower heat, simmer 10-15 minutes or until carrots are tender.  Add small amounts of water if needed.

Makes 6 servings

Nutrition information (per serving): 201 calories, 18 grams carbs, 6 grams fat, 17 grams protein

Family thoughts: Hubby:  “This is really good, babe.”  Toddler: “More hot dog pwease!” (We told him the meat was hot dogs – hey, it worked!)  It was pretty delicious!  Of course, I welcome your suggestions and feedback, too. Enjoy!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

