Workin' It Out

Melting Away & Finding Myself

What I Made Monday: Spicy Tilapia

I had put off making the Spicy Tilapia for awhile because one: I had other recipes with soon to be expired (or rotten) ingredients and two: I usually pick fish recipes as the last thing I make.  I am not a huge fish fan, unless of course it is deep fried with loads of tartar sauce.  So I guess I should say I am not a healthy fish fan (HFF) because it tastes like… fish.  So I reluctantly made this recipe knowing there would be leftovers we could eat on a Friday in Lent and because if I waited much longer the ingredients for this recipe would be composting in my produce bin.

Here’s what you need for this Emeals recipe:

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • 1 1/2 pounds tilapia (I used Swai because my local wally world was out of tilapia)
  • 2 large potatoes, peeled & diced (remember the compost comment? yeah, my potatoes were composting in the pantry, so I used some frozen diced potatoes)
  • 3 medium zucchini, thinly sliced (I used yellow squash because while I am not a HFF I am also not a zucchini fan unless we’re talking zucchini bread, then I’m all about it.)
  • 1 14 oz. can no-salt-added corn, drained
  • 1 1/2 cups of your favorite salsa
  • 3 limes (again, composting lime in the crisper meant I only used 2 limes)
  • garlic powder, salt, pepper
  • 6 large sheets foil (each of my sheets were big enough to line a cookie sheet and that seemed to work pretty well)

Steam or microwave potatoes until just tender.  I skipped this & I shouldn’t have.  I thought since I was using frozen potatoes they would thaw easily in the oven, but instead I had to increase my cooking time.

Place each fillet on a sheet of foil.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Top each fillet with zucchini (yellow squash)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…then with potatoes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…and corn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…then with garlic powder, salt, pepper and 1/4 cup salsa.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finally squeeze 1/2 of a lime over top.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fold foil over fillet and tightly seal. Bake 20 minutes at 350 F or until fish flakes easily with fork.  (I ended up baking mine for nearly 45 minutes since I didn’t thaw my potatoes beforehand.)  Open packets carefully and enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nutrition facts per serving (6 servings): 165 calories, 21 g carbs, 3 g fat, 19 g protein

It turned out that even though I am not a HFF, this was pretty tasty.  Even the lil’ man scarfed it down and requested “more chicken!”  Whatever works for you honey… I will totally let you think it’s chicken and maybe you will one day really be a HFF.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

