Workin' It Out

Melting Away & Finding Myself

What I Made Monday: Turkey Vegetable Soup

Today it was 80 degrees! In March?!? And what was for dinner? SOUP. Nice, hot soup…  I so wasn’t feeling it, but it I had all the ingredients and the meat needed to be used, so we had soup.

Turkey Vegetable Soup (recipe compliments of Emeals)

Ingredients for 6 servings (1 1/2 cups each)

20 oz ground turkey breast
2 14 oz. cans fat-free beef broth (I also used the reduced sodium, but when I make this again I think I will try at least one can of the non-reduced sodium broth, because I ended up adding quite a bit of salt)
14 oz. can stewed tomatoes, original recipe
16 oz. bag (froze) mixed vegetables
1/4 c all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper

Spray a large Dutch oven with non-stick spray and brown turkey over medium heat stirring often to crumble turkey.  I used my great Mix n’Chop utensil from Pampered Chef, which made quick work of the crumbling.

Sprinkle flour over turkey, then slowly add broth to pot. Mix well.

Add tomatoes, vegetables, salt & pepper.  Cover & bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 20 min. 

Nutrition info per serving: 205 Calories, 18 grams carbs, 1 gram fat, 27 grams protein

I served the soup with a simple green salad (thank you, bag o’salad!) and buy-it-in-the-frozen-section garlic toast.

It was pretty tasty, but soup is so flexible that I really should have played with it a bit more to improve the taste as it was a little bland.  The hubby suggested adding taco seasoning to the meat and making it a taco soup.  I thought using the Italian recipe stewed tomatoes (that has added oregano & garlic) would have been great in addition as well as throwing in Italian seasoning or a combo of basil, oregano, thyme, etc.

What are your go-tos for enhancing bland foods?

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “What I Made Monday: Turkey Vegetable Soup

  1. I think adding a ranch packet would be yummy too! 🙂

  2. That sounds delicious! Thanks for the suggestion!

  3. This looks delicious. I’ve been craving soup (even though it is so hot). Random, I know. It would be very easy to make this a taco soup. I have a really good homemade taco seasoning on my blog. It has no salt in it so you would need to add salt (as needed). I’ve really made an effort to stop by packaged seasonings. So far, so good!

Leave a Reply

