Workin' It Out

Melting Away & Finding Myself

What I Made Monday – Slow Cooker BBQ

We’re having some crazy warm spring weather.  Last Monday – 80, this Monday – 85!  I decided not to repeat the soup route for this week.  Barbecue is much more my style for this weather! I loosely followed an Emeals recipe – very loosely.  Also took some suggestions from a friend’s recipe posted on Facebook.  The results? Yummmmmmm!

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Breasts (6 servings)

Ingredients:
2 lbs. boneless skinless chicken breasts – do not thaw!
1 cup water
1 cup favorite barbecue sauce
Garlic powder, onion powder, or whatever seasonings you might want

First, I lined my slow cooker with a Reynolds slow-cooker liner.  (Side note: these things are awesome!  If you don’t currently use them, you must – clean up is a breeze!)

Then I placed the still frozen chicken in the crock.

Poured in the water & barbecue sauce.

Then I sprinkled seasonings on top.

I popped the lid on and programmed my slow cooker to cook on low for 8 hours.

When I got home from work, I shredded the chicken and mixed it back in the juicy sauciness in the cooker.

It warmed while I prepared the rest of dinner – corn and salad.  I served the shredded chicken on Orowheat Sandwich Thins with an extra tablespoon of barbecue sauce.

It was a hit with the whole family!  Hubby had seconds and lil’ man was over-stuffing his face (as usual). The only thing I would do differently next time is either drain the meat better or not use the sandwich thins as they got soggy bottoms.

Nutrition info for chicken only (per serving): 226 calories, 3.3 grams fat, 20 grams carbs, 26.7 grams protein

What was for dinner at your house tonight?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

