Workin' It Out

Melting Away & Finding Myself

Joy!

I had the best workout this morning!  I wish I could say it was because of the actual exercise.  I used the weight machines to exercise my legs and then I walked on the treadmill at 3.0 varying my incline.  This pace seems so easy now, even with the incline.  But, that wasn’t what made my workout great this morning.

I’m one of the “regulars” at the gym in the morning and most of the time there are another 5-6 regulars I see. Mostly because there is a class that starts at 6, but since I usually have to leave the gym by 6:30, I don’t do the class.  I know I wouldn’t want to leave, the peer pressure would make me finish, and then I’d be extremely late for work!  Anyway, there I was minding my own business, reading a book on my Kindle, listening to the news through my headphones and pouring sweat down my forehead and back (that’s a beautiful picture, isn’t it?) when I see a lady standing just to my left.  She is one of the regulars as well, but I don’t know her name or anything really about her.  So I look over at her, and she says to me, “I just want you to know that what you’re doing is working for you.  I see you in here and not that I’m staring at your butt, but I can tell what you’re doing is really working for you!  Your incline is higher, you don’t hold onto the bars so much and I just thought you should know you’re doing great.”  And then she was gone.  I was teary eyed as she talked to me.  And I just couldn’t stop saying thank you. If I hadn’t been walking and she & I weren’t both dripping with sweat, I would have hugged her.  I beamed as I finished my workout.  It is so nice to have somebody that is not a friend or relative, but maybe has been on the same journey as you to acknowledge the work and changes that are taking place.  I was absolutely shocked and overjoyed at the same time.  By the time I finished working out she was gone, but the bubbling of joy she left in my heart has stayed with me all day.  So while I may not reach my 32-pounds-lost-by-the-time-I’m-32 goal, an unsolicited compliment from a stranger is a pretty damn awesome birthday present!

So I ask you to pay-it-forward: Give somebody a compliment or perform a random act of kindness. You have no idea what wonderful soul lifting you can do!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Joy!

  1. Corrina on said:

    Ashley, that’s AWESOME!!! An angel’s message from God : )

Leave a Reply

