Workin' It Out

Melting Away & Finding Myself

What I Made Thursday Instead of Monday

I haven’t cooked the last couple of Mondays, but I had made this quiche a week or so ago and people at work were asking me for the recipe.  I had all the ingredients and it’s super easy to throw together so I made it tonight for the blog (well, and of course to eat!).

Southwestern Quiche (thank you, Emeals!)

1 C Southwestern egg substitute – this is great! It already has the peppers and onions mixed in the eggs!
1/2 C FF evaporated milk
1 C shredded 2% sharp cheddar cheese
2 eggs beaten
1/4 tsp. salt (I omitted this and never missed it)
1/4 tsp. pepper
1 deep dish frozen pie shell

(The egg substitute, evaporated milk, pie crusts and pre-shredded cheese I bought had enough in their containers to make the second quiche tonight – super easy & one shopping trip for two quiches? – double bonus!)

Let the piecrust thaw on a baking sheet for about 15 minutes while the oven preheats and you are mixing your ingredients.

Combine the egg substitute, milk, cheese, eggs, salt & pepper and pour into piecrust.

Bake 25-30 minutes at 325 (mine took more like 35 minutes) or until eggs become firm.  Divide into 6 servings.

Nutrition info per serving: 288 calories, 23 grams carbs, 16 grams fat, 13 grams protein

You could make this skinnier by omitting the pie shell and making it a fritata instead.  I served this with a simple salad. Mmmmm….. enjoy!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “What I Made Thursday Instead of Monday

  1. Ruthanne on said:

    Thank you so much for this! I made this emeals meal weeks ago, but lost the print out 😦 I’ve been craving it the last few days. We added ham to one and ground sausage to another when we made this recipe. Thanks to you, we can make it again!!!

Leave a Reply

