Workin' It Out

Melting Away & Finding Myself

Uhhh…

Oh my – I have no idea what week I’m on here in my weight loss journey!  The end of the school year was nuts, but it’s over, so hopefully I will have more time to blog.  Here’s what I can tell you:

  • I still haven’t lost the holy grail 4 pounds (to have made 32 lbs. by 32 years) I am looking for… stuck, stuck, stuck…
  • But stuck right over the border in one-derland!
  • I need to eat more!  Fitbit tells me I average about 2380 calories burned per day (that includes sleeping, exercising, working, sitting on my butt – everything), so I should be eating about 2000 calories per day to feed my body what it needs without letting it think it’s starving.  I know this isn’t a popular way of thinking, but read about it & consider it a path for you! Most of my “dieting” friends are doing extraordinary amounts of exercise and eating so little that I wonder how they even make it through the day!  We are all in such a hurry to lose the weight and get on with our lives, but do we really need to be in such a hurry?  I’m not saying I’m enjoying looking at the fat lady in the mirror, but I do enjoy a little more freedom with my calories.  And shouldn’t this be a lifestyle change? This can’t be a temporary eating change that we’ll all dump when we hit our goal.  Because then wouldn’t I end up just looking at a fat person in the mirror again? Hmmm… Maybe I will need to revamp this site so that it’s not so focused on the pounds, or just forget my blog title and continue to do what may work for me.  I say “may” because I haven’t given this “eating more” thing enough of a chance.  I did it for about 2 weeks, freaked out when I hadn’t lost anything and then cut my calories again and guess what? Huh… I still haven’t lost anything (well, I have, but I know I personally have an expectation of a certain number of pounds gone to say that I “have lost something”).  So what do I really have to lose? Literally, 24  more pounds before the end of the year.  But to answer figuratively, I have nothing to lose! I want to gain strength through weight training, confidence through new muscles being found, energy to play with my little man, new recipes to skinnify and then not feel guilty if I eat an extra portion. Wow, that was a long bullet…
  • I have to stop being so competitive.  My friend has lost nearly double what I have while I have danced around the 28-29 pounds lost mark and it’s driving me crazy!!  Dear Me, Please read above bullet point and then stop with the competitiveness!!!!  Love, Me  P.S. You WILL love yourself more in the long run if you stop worrying about the scale!
Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Uhhh…

  1. Annie on said:

    So, your saying, I should stop competing with you, because I’m still at 18 pound loss, and you are at 28? 🙂 You are doing great, and I’m so inspired!!

Leave a Reply

