Workin' It Out

Melting Away & Finding Myself

The Running Shoe Purchase Experience

As you know, I was nervous to get fitted for running shoes.  If you don’t know me, I live in the general Kansas City area, so I went to The Running Well Store, which for you locals, used to be the Sports Medicine store.  By the time we reached the front door, my palms were super sweaty and I was ready to run (pun intended) back to the car. I had a pre-conceived notion that although they said they were knowledgeable and helpful on the website, that I would be looked down upon or made to feel stupid with not having any running experience. I was so completely wrong – thank goodness!

As soon as we walked into the empty store, I met Linda.  She was super nice and when I started to tell her what I needed, it all came rushing out: the knee injury, the Color Run coming up, my weight loss, my nervousness. She was so supportive and really pumped me up about being able to complete the run. She asked if I had ever had a stride analysis, which of course I have not, hence the nervousness. And by this time a couple of other customers had come in, so I cannot tell you the relief I felt when she said I could “jog if I wanted to, but you don’t have to.” I chose the not having to option! I walked on the treadmill about a minute while they videotaped me.  More relief: the only part of me videotaped was my mid-calf down… whew.

Then she played back the tape and explained to me what she observed in my  stride. I overpronate, or my ankles roll inward, which means I need a good arch support (and was probably a good reason I injured my knee).  So then she measured my foot and got some boxes of running shoes.  I tried on several different brands: New Balance, Saucony, Brooks and Asics. They were all comfortable in their own way, but the Brooks really fit the best, although they felt a little tight across the top of my foot.  I got to wear them for awhile before deciding to take them home.  I even have two weeks to decide they’re not for me. I have never spent so much on a pair of shoes in my life! But I am sure it will be well worth it especially if I don’t want to re-injure myself.

So yesterday since I knew I was going to do a crazy amount of walking at work, I decided to wear the shoes for awhile to make sure they were really going to work. Well, it became pretty obvious after the first hour or so that I needed to adjust the laces.  They still felt really tight across the top of my foot.  But then I noticed if I adjusted them enough to be not so tight, that the part around my heel felt really loose… hmmm…. not such a pleasant feeling either way.  So I called the store and asked them to order me the wide width shoe.  It should be in in a week – which feels like forever when I’m finally feeling pumped up to start C25K again, but I’m okay with it.  When I get the new shoes I will start C25K and when the Color Run gets here June 30th, I will just do whatever training day I’m on and have a good time!! It may take me longer, but I will run a 5K!

I never did tell Linda about the blog, but if she ever reads this I want her to know that she made me so much more at ease and I truly appreciate her help and support!  If you need a new pair of running shoes, go to The Running Well Store and ask for Linda!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Running Shoe Purchase Experience

  1. Your post has inspired me to try this store! My June non-food reward is new running shoes and why not do it right?!

  2. Absolutely! The Running Well Store just sent out an email about when to replace your shoes. Take your current shoes with you and that will help them find new (& awesome) shoes for you!

Leave a Reply

