Workin' It Out

Melting Away & Finding Myself

The Color Run – Kansas City

The Color Run was so much fun!  If you ever have a chance to do this run, DO IT!

I went with 4 other friends from work: Victoria, Ericka, Jennifer & Tami.  We had such a good colorful time.

Our “Before” Picture! Jennifer, Ericka, Me, Victoria, Tami

We got to the Truman Sports Complex about 6:30 a.m. (for a Saturday, this is way too early, but adrenaline kept me going after my poor night’s sleep last night). It was surprising how many people were already there and we enjoyed seeing the crazy outfits and tutus people wore.

We were near the starting line a few minutes after we arrived. The race was to start at 7:30, but it was 7:45 before they counted us down to the start.  We were in the first wave and Jennifer, Ericka & Victoria started running leaving Tami & I in their dust (haha, I wasn’t ready to run right off the bat).  Here’s a map of our run:

Tami & I had a good walk and after a warm up, we finally ran.  I lasted a minute, but it was more than my 10 step minimum, so I can now say I have RUN in a 5K!!!  Maybe if the Color Run comes back to KC next year I will actually be able to run the whole thing.  The weather actually wasn’t too bad and I think we all appreciated the organizers moving the start time up by an hour to help everybody be done before it got terribly hot.  Most of the time there was a nice breeze, too.

The first color zone was yellow, then we passed through orange, blue and pink.  I was surprised how little color was actually on me when we reached the finish line. But then, we entered the festival area with a color toss every 15 minutes! They had a DJ and lots of fun music to dance to.   I definitely got most of my color in the festival area!

We walked back up to our car and got some other Color Runners to take our after picture.

We were a mess! But with some handy baby wipes (thank you twin mommy Ericka!) we were starting to get slightly clean before getting home.

I was actually surprised how well I cleaned up at home.  A little extra scrubbing power in the shower and I am mostly back to normal.  I followed the shower with a little nap and some lunch… I think I’m going to be relaxing a lot the rest of today!

Here are some more fun pictures for you to enjoy!

Victoria’s best side!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The Color Run – Kansas City

  1. I am signed up for The Color Run in Miami, in October. Can’t wait! Love your pics!

  2. Linda Schisler on said:

    Way to go!! So proud of you! I am hoping the shoes you ordered did the job for you!! Keep in touch. 🙂
    Linda (from the Running Well store)

    • Hey Linda! Thanks for stopping by! I have to admit I chickened out about wearing my brand new shoes. In retrospect, they wouldn’t have come out as technicolor as I thought they might and next time I won’t compromise on shoes! I ended up with some terrible blisters from the ones I did wear. 😦

Leave a Reply

