Workin' It Out

Melting Away & Finding Myself

What I Made Monday: Semi-Homemade Goodness

I do enjoy cooking, but not exactly the grocery shopping (mostly the paying for the groceries) or cleaning up after.  It would be great to have a cooking show – some “assistant” would shop for the groceries, there would be a budget for gourmet ingredients and some other “assistant” would clean up the dishes and the kitchen. So a lot of times I end up doing the semi-homemade route, such as tonight.

I’ve been wanting to make spaghetti and meatballs for awhile, well, ever since I saw the jar of pasta sauce in the pantry and thought, “mmm… spaghetti and meatballs.”  That was Saturday. But hey, I’ve learned when I’m pregnant, if I want something I don’t stop thinking about it until I have it. And since things have been crazy busy and I’ve been crazy tired (I’ve yet to find that 2nd trimester energy), things were definitely going to be semi-homemade. But it was still delicious!

There isn’t really a recipe.

Buy frozen Italian meatballs. Put some in a saucepan (I think I did about 30).  Cover with pasta sauce (we love Prego and not because I’m prego).  And since the jar barely covered the meatballs I added a can of sliced stewed tomatoes, which ended up making the sauce a little thinner than I like, but it still tasted good.  After the meatballs simmer about 10 minutes, boil a big ol’ pot of water for the spaghetti.  Add spaghetti when it’s boiling and cook for about 10 minutes to reach al dente.  After you drain the pasta, top with sauce & meatballs. Top with Parmesan cheese.  Yum!  I made garlic toast in the toaster oven and we had Caesar salad (thank you bag o’salad mix) on the side.

Side question:  Do the people who make the salad mix not measure how large they leave the pieces of lettuce?  I swear some of them were practically a half a leaf of romaine.  I worked a little harder and tore the lettuce in smaller pieces.

And then right as we were about to stuff ourselves, I remembered to take pictures.  Lil’ man requested I take a picture of his plate, too.ImageImageImage

Image

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “What I Made Monday: Semi-Homemade Goodness

  1. Corrina on said:

    Love it! I made homemade meatballs last night that cooked while we ate dinner and then I froze them….I think you guys would like the recipe and then they’d always be on hand (they are pinned on Pinterest).

Leave a Reply

